Hieronymus Bosch

12:21 AM Unknown 0 Comments


Drawing of a man wearing a hat
Hieronymus Bosch :)
Hieronymus Bosch was born in Duchy of Branbant, Burgundian Netherlands in the year 1450. He died on 9 August in the year 1516 in the Duchy of Brabant, Hasburg Netherlands. Hieronymus was known fo rhis fantastic imagery, detailed landscapes and illustrations of moral and religious concepts and narratives.

The Garden of Earthly Delights
The Garden Of Earthly Delights
His most famous triptych is the The Garden Of Earthly Delights whose inner panels are intended to be read chronologically from left to right. In the left hand panel God presents Eve to Adam; innovatively He is given a youthful appearance. The figures are set in a landscape populated by exotic animals and unusual semi-organic hut-shaped forms. The central panel is a broad panorama teeming with socially engaged nude figures seemingly engaged in innocent, self-absorbed joy, as well as fantastical animals, oversized fruit and hybrid stone formations.
The right panel presents a hellscape; a world in which humankind has succumbed to the temptations of evil and are reaping eternal damnation. Set at night, the panel features cold colours, tortured figures and frozen waterways. The nakedness of the human figures has lost any eroticism suggested in the central panel, as large explosions in the background throw light through the city gate and spill onto the water in the panel's midground. This painting feels dark to me as it very much describes what is happening in our daily lives as of right now with global warming and deforestation going on on a large scale and we may end up like what is happening in the last panel if our activities continue.

Hieronymus Bosch- The Seven Deadly Sins and the Four Last Things.JPG
                                          The Seven Deadly Sins and The Four Last Things
The Seven Deadly Sins and The Four Last Things is a painting attributed to Hieronymus Bosch completed around 1500 or later. The painting is oil on wood panels. The painting is presented in a series of circular images.
Four small circles, detailing "Death of the Sinner", "Judgement", "Hell", and "Glory", surround a larger circle in which the Seven Deadly Sins are depicted: wrath at the bottom, then (proceeding clockwise) envy,greed,gluttony,sloth, extravagance (later lust), and pride in scenes from life rather than allegorical representations of the sins.
At the centre of the large circle, which is said to represent the eye of God, is a "pupil" in which Christ can be seen emerging from his tomb. Below this image is the Latin inscription Cave Cave Deus Videt ("Beware, Beware, God Sees").
Above and below the central image are inscription in Latin of Deuteronomy 32:28-29, containing the lines "For they are a nation void of counsel, neither is there any understanding in them," above, and "O that they were wise, that they understood this, that they would consider their latter end!" below. This painting makes me feel like we as humans are like this in nature but we can place our faiths in God and He can help guide us through life.
Jeroen Bosch (ca. 1450-1516) - De verzoeking van de heilige Antonius (ca.1500) - Lissabon Museu Nacional de Arte Antiga 19-10-2010 16-21-31.jpg
                                                 Triptych of the Temptation of St.Anthony
The work tells the story of the mental and spiritual torments endured by Saint Anthony the Great (Anthony Abbott), one of the most prominent of the Desert Fathers of Egypt in the late 3rd and early 4th centuries. The Temptation of St.Anthony was a popular subject in Medieval and Renaissance art. This painting to me shows the power of faith in prayer and makes me feel that anything can be accomplished.